Technical Glow Plug Relay.

Currently reading:
Technical Glow Plug Relay.

ninian324

Is there any specific way in removing the glow plug relay. I'm having the glow plug message flashing on the screen and then it disappears. I just want to clean the contacts to see if that helps.

Thanks.

Is there any specific way in removing the glow plug relay. I'm having the glow plug message flashing on the screen and then it disappears. I just want to clean the contacts to see if that helps.

Thanks.
My 2.8jtd does not have glowplugs in plural, only one for the flame starter, which may never have been used.

I cannot give a definitive answer, but sensible to pull the F02, (red) maxi blade fuse in engine bay fusebox. Also do not turn ignition on, with relay removed, as ECU will notice missing relay, and generate an alarm message.

Hi

You don't say the age of your vehicle, but I have some knowledge of the setup for the X250 (2006 onwards). The glow plug "relay" is actually a combined electronic circuit board and a high current relay. The plastic case is bonded together, so contact cleaning is pretty well out of the question. I think it is extremely unlikely that dirty contacts are the cause of your problem, and relays are amongst the more reliable parts on modern vehicles. One of the jobs of the circuit board is to monitor the individual currents drawn by the four plugs, and if any one is too high or too low an error message will be generated. The later types will log an error code to indicate which plug is out of spec.

Have you checked that all the glow plugs are OK ? A simple check with an ohmmeter should show about 1 ohm from the plug "hot" terminal to the engine block (disconnect the harness first). The best glow plug testers use a realistic drive current, but this would normally be a garage job. Checking for stored error codes is also recommended.