Technical Rewiring assistance

Currently reading:
Technical Rewiring assistance

JCCS

All,
As I have gone through my very very bad 1980 Fiat 124 Spider 2000 I have found that the FI wiring harness is bad and some of the main wires are bad. I have made the painful decision to rewire the whole car. I found a used FI wiring harness for this model and if it is good I will use that and rewire the rest of the car.
I can say that I am no expert when it comes this project so I am looking for advice and counsel on the best way to go about picking the best wiring. If there are kits that would be a good choice, let me know. If not, I would love advice on how to approach this.
As you can see from this picture, it is now a blank slate. Please Help!!
Fiat Interior.jpg

Have never rewired a car from scratch.

What I do know is that older Fiats used large cross sectional area wires (overkill/over rated) with thick insulation (which went harder with time).

Suggest you go back to the drawing board and work out what guague/current rating of wires you really need.

e.g. a 21 Watt brake light only requires 2 Amps. So a 4 Amp rated cable would be fine.

Also modern cables have better rated current capacity. So a good 6 Amp cable will be thin/lean/mean and easily wired and routed compared to the old Fiat "chunky" wires.

When dealing with bundles of cables then try to arrange the higher current demand cables on the outside of the loom, or separate them off into separate looms.

Lastly it is unlikely that you can get all the multicolored and striped cables. So you need to i-dent the cable at both ends and preferably at stages in-between start and end of run. Cable ring tabs are cheap, easy to fit/slide on and could save you a big headache when possibly diagnosing an issue in the future.

How to pick the right wire sizes